A big decision

by marteandkristin

My plan is to take a exchange year in USA from August. To take the senior year in American High School, and experience the school spirit, prom, and be a part of a sport team, in my case swimming. I have always been intrested in other cultures, and to be a part of an american family seems to be the perfect oportunity the really be a part of another culture. To be a part of a small community, or live in a big city. I have soo much to learn and see, and I feel that I can teach others about Norway too. I love people, and I am genuinely interested in them. I enjoy conversations with people in all ages.

United States of America is also the land of DREAMS. We have learned about the Declaration of Independence in school, and that you actually have the right to be happy. 

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

Isn’t that beautiful?! In Norway we have something called “the Law of Jante”.

The ten rules state:

  1. Don’t think you’re anything special.
  2. Don’t think you’re as good as us.
  3. Don’t think you’re smarter than us.
  4. Don’t convince yourself that you’re better than us.
  5. Don’t think you know more than us.
  6. Don’t think you are more important than us.
  7. Don’t think you are good at anything.
  8. Don’t laugh at us.
  9. Don’t think anyone cares about you.
  10. Don’t think you can teach us anything.
It’s so depressing, why is individuals not supposed to have success? It’s of course not an official law, but still..everyone knows about it. So, you may understand why America is a dream to me?
But to the point, my problem is my health. Both physical and mental. After 5 months beeing sick, the only thing I want is to have back my normal life. Swim, be with friends, and feel fresh. America will always be there, and I can go to college, or work there later. But at this moment my application is beeing sent around the USA, in search of a hostfamily to me! A family who wanted to host me for a year, I can have a second family for the rest of my life. Meet people from every corner of the world..
 A dream is about to come true. But I’m not sure if it is a dream for me anymore. Or if I am able to do it right now. I don’t know if I should listen to my body, and set my dream on wait. I am going over there some day, I am just not sure if I am going to do it yet. I have to remind myself that I’m just 17, and still have my whole life infront of me.
PLEASE, give me some wise words. What would you do? Any experiences with exchangestudents? College in America? Going on a big journey? Or just living in USA? Please tell me 🙂
Love Kristin
